Anker 150W vs Prime 250W: Six ports, different priorities

Anker’s slim A1A05 charging station has four USB-C and two USB-A ports. Image: Anchor

Anchor 150W Travel Charger A1A05 in the Prime 250W A2345 both give you four USB-C ports and two USB-A ports. This identical number hides different priorities: one is a slim unit for a bag, while the other puts more power and visible controls on a desk. Start with the devices you charge together, then compare the ports they actually serve.

Six ports does not mean six equal power outputs

Anker illustrated laptop charging stations of the A1A05 higher-output USB-C ports.
Anker illustrated laptop charging stations of the A1A05 higher-output USB-C ports. Image: Anchor

The first two USB-C ports of the A1A05 all support it up to 100W when used individually. Its other two USB-C ports are rated at 45W each, and USB-A is listed at 12W. The entire charger shares a maximum of 150W, so adding the individual port ratings would give a misleading picture.

The Prime Minister has one 140W USB-C1 portthree other USB-C ports rated up to 100W each, and USB-A outputs up to 22.5W. It also has a common ceiling: 250W over the charger, instead of 140W plus three simultaneous 100W feeds.

For a laptop, phone, tablet and headphones, write down the input that each device can accept. A higher charger rating forces a device to not draw that amount. Conversely, a laptop that can use more than 100W has a reason to examine the first port of the Prime, provided that the cable and the charging protocol also match.

The shared budget is important when buying a second laptop

The Prime A2345 puts a display and control dial in a desktop case.
The Prime A2345 puts a display and control dial in a desktop case. Image: Anchor

Anker lists the Prime at up to 240W with two ports in use and up to 250W with three or more. Those are aggregate limits, not guaranteed power on each socket. The manufacturer also notes that firmware changes can change its power distribution behavior.

The A1A05 automatically distributes its smaller overall budget through PowerIQ 4.0. Its two 100W-capable ports should therefore not be read as a promise of two simultaneous 100W laptop connections. A demanding laptop plus smaller accessories is another load of two busy workstations.

A practical comparison is to consider the busiest charging time of the day. If everything is connected overnight, the peak rating may be less important than if two laptops need power during a short meeting break. Without measured results for your devices, the specifications establish limits rather than completion times.

A travel-friendly form versus a visible desktop dashboard

Anker's illustration of the Prime Charger's power display.
Anker’s illustration of the Prime Charger’s power display. Image: Anchor

The A1A05 measures 5.9 × 2.7 × 0.87 inches and weighs 290g excluding its AC cable. Its flat cable and folding plug suit pack next to a laptop. Despite the “6-in-1” name it has no AC outlets: all six outputs are USB, and it still needs mains power.

The Prime is shorter but significantly taller, at 4.18 × 1.58 × 3.64 inches, with a listed weight of 640g. Its 2.26-inch LCD and control dial let you check charging information and adjust settings without treating the charger as an invisible box under the desk.

Its app features add another consideration. Wi-Fi setup supports 2.4GHz networks, and Anker says screen and app readings may vary due to report timing. Treat this display as a practical view of charging behavior, not as a substitute for a calibrated measuring instrument.

Match the charger to the kit you already carry

Anchor the illustration of the A1A05 thermal and electrical protection functions.
Anchor the illustration of the A1A05 thermal and electrical protection functions. Image: Anchor

The A1A05 is offered in Iron Gray and Radiant White; the prime listing compared here is the Phantom Gray A2345. Both accept 100–240V input. Check the supplied plug and cable for your destination, and remember that broad voltage support is separate from physical socket compatibility.

Keep the power plan separate from the data plan. Our Samsung P9 versus P7 SSD comparison explains another reason to read about a USB-C connector: the storage performance depends on the data interface. Here the useful questions are device input, cable rating and how the available wattage is shared.

For US buyers, anchor lists $79.99 for A1A05 in the $149.99 for Prime A2345 before a displayed $50 promotion on the latter. Prime is marked in stock. The official A1A05 page still shows an older September-October pre-order window, so confirm current shipping timing; matching US Amazon listings are available for both A1A05 colors and the Prime.

specificationA1A05 Travel charging stationA2345 Prime Charger
Start dateNot specified on the actual US product page citedNot specified on the actual US product page cited
Total output ceiling150 watts250 watts
ports4 USB-C + 2 USB-A; no AC outlets4 USB-C + 2 USB-A
Highest single-port outputUSB-C1 / C2: up to 100W individuallyUSB-C1: up to 140W
Other USB-C portsC3 / C4: up to 45W individuallyC2 / C3 / C4: up to 100W individually
USB-A ratingUp to 12WUp to 22.5W
Shared-Power CautionPort maximum cannot be provided all togetherTwo ports: up to 240W total; three to six: up to 250W total
Dimensions5.9 × 2.7 × 0.87 inches4.18 × 1.58 × 3.64 inches
Listed weight290g, AC cable excluded6 40g
controlsAutomatic power allocation2.26-inch LCD, control dial and app functions
input voltage100-240V AC100-240V AC
Variants comparedIron gray / Radiant whitePhantom Grey
Where to buy

Leave a Comment