PSA: Google silently links your phone number across all registered accounts

credit: Brady Snyder / Android Authority
TL; Dr

  • Google now automatically verifies and attaches your phone number to every Google account registered on your Android device without explicit requests.
  • Google updated its documentation between August and October 2025 to reflect this opt-out behavior, which links the numbers across the secondary, work and old profiles.
  • Users can turn off “automatically verify phone numbers” on their Android device’s Google settings page, but previously linked numbers must be manually removed from the personal info page of each Google account.

Your Android phone is deeply integrated with a number of Google services, but a quiet background mechanism is currently causing excitement among users. A growing number of Android users are just now learning that Google automatically verifies and associates their phone number with every Google account logged into their device, without an explicit confirmation prompt.

As seen in a recent Reddit thread, users are reporting receiving confirmation emails out of the blue from “noreply-phone-verification@google.com” saying their phone number has been verified. The feature, known in Google settings as “phone number verification”, connects your active phone number across all Google accounts registered on the same phone, including secondary profiles, work accounts, and deleted handles.

Leave a Comment