Nothing Headphones (1) Pro changes the original headphone (1) formula with a three-driver system, tuning with Metropolis Studios and a physical Flat EQ switch. The original pairs a custom 40mm speaker with KEF’s sound, and maintains the longer advertised battery maximum. For an owner considering the newer model, these differences create a useful question: which new features are important enough to change an already working listening setup?
The driver arrangement is the most obvious change

Pro divides the hardware into a 40 mm dynamic bass drivera 13 × 8 mm precision dynamic driver and an xMEMS treble driver. Nothing lists Metropolis Studios as its tuning partner. The original product description identified a custom 40mm speaker and an acoustic partnership with KEF. That establishes two different approaches without deciding which one a listener will prefer.
The number of drivers alone cannot establish tonal balance, detail or tidiness. The acoustic connection, the mood and the listening conditions remain part of the result. Nothing percentage claimed for bass punch and sensitivity comparing laboratory conditions; they should not be read as a corresponding percentage improvement in each song or for each carry.
Pro also lists Personal Sound, spatial audio with head tracking and a separate Flat EQ switch. These are useful features to compare against a person’s actual listening habits. Someone who mostly uses an established equalizer setting may weigh it differently than someone who regularly switches sources or wants a physical way to select the flat mode.
The original advertises even longer playback

Nothing advertising the original on until 80 hours with ANC off and 35 hours with ANC on. According to the AAC numbers are open 68 hours off and 30 hours on. These are manufacturer maximums. They show that choosing Pro does not automatically mean gaining endurance, while leaving the actual runtime dependent on settings and usage.
Per published LDAC numbers fall to 53 hours with ANC off and 28 hours with it on. This distinction is important if high-resolution wireless playback is the reason for purchase. Comparing a maximum of one codec with an ANC-on result of another would hide an operating choice that can affect the time between charges.
The pro page says its 68-hour test uses AAC, 50 percent volume and standard settings in a 25°C laboratory. Five minutes of charging will give you four hours with ANC off or two with it on. The original advertises up to five hours from a five-minute charge. These remain separately published tests, rather than a controlled comparison made here.
Match the connection with the intended source

Both models are supported LDAC, USB-C audio and a 3.5 mm connection. Pro features Bluetooth 6.1 and dual-device connection; The original specification lists Bluetooth 5.3. The newer version number describes the radio specification while the features supported by the source device are still being reviewed.
For Pro, nothing specifies USB-C audio up to 24-bit/192 kHz and AUX up to 24-bit/96 kHz. Its codec list separates AAC, SBC and LDAC for music from LC3 for broadcast audio only. Auracast is a sharing feature, so the LC3 entry should not be taken as a promise of ordinary LC3 music playback from any phone.
The latency requirements also have conditions: under 15 ms via AUX requires Flat EQ, while the 120 ms Bluetooth requirement enables a Nothing phone use with game mode enabled. Our Technics A1000 and A800 comparison offers another reference for considering wired audio and battery consumption together.
Treat comfort and isolation as personal controls

Pro adds removable ear cushions and a revised headband. Nothing describes softer cushions and changes to upholstery compared to the original. These are manufacturer design requirements; fit still depends on head shape, glasses and seat length. Installing the cushions correctly is also important for sealing and ANC operation.
Pro’s adaptive ANC is rated at up to 46 dB as a theoretical lab maximum. Its IP52 rating covers limited dust and dripping water conditions, with the manufacturer excluding an interpretation of waterproof protection. Neither figure replaces trying on the fit or verifying the intended environment. The strongest reason to change models is a particular new function that serves regular use, in addition to an acceptable battery trade.
Headphones (1) Pro is listed at $399 on Nothing’s US storefront. The official Pro specification provides the detailed connection and laboratory conditions. The original remains a useful reference for its KEF partnership and longer announced battery maximum; The Pro’s case depends on its driver system, controls and features that a listener actually uses.
| specification | Headphones (1) Pro | Headphones (1) |
|---|---|---|
| Start date | Not specified on the quoted product page | Not specified on the quoted product page |
| Driver hardware | 40 mm is dynamic; 13 × 8 mm precision dynamic; xMEMS treble | Custom 40mm speaker; High linearity suspension |
| Tuning partner | Metropolis Studios | KEF |
| Maximum playback, ANC off | 68 hours, AAC; 53 hours, LDAC | 80 hours advertised |
| Maximum playback, ANC on | 30 hours, AAC; 28 hours, LDAC | 35 hours announced |
| Five minute charge requirement | 4 hours ANC off; 2 hours ANC on | Up to 5 hours announced |
| Bluetooth version | 6.1 | 5.3 |
| Connection options | Bluetooth / USB-C / 3.5 mm AUX | Bluetooth / USB-C / 3.5 mm |
| Music codecs confirmed | AAC, SBC, LDAC; LC3 is transmitted only | LDAC supported |
| Flat EQ control | Engage physical switches | Not identified in the quoted product description |
| Where to buy | View of nothing US | View of nothing US |
